Finding Nemo, education and me #EdBlogNZ Challenge

As a teenager, my parents hoped I would grow out of my love (bordering on obsession) for cartoons and animated movies, but it was never to be. In fact, I actually had dreams of becoming a cartoonist before deciding on training as a teacher. I think it’s the imaginative aspect of cartoons that I find so appealing…they’re not real but what if they were? How cool would that be?!

So, now that I’ve outed myself as a big kid that’s really just pretending to be an adult I’ll carry on. For me, it doesn’t get any better than animated movies and Finding Nemo is by far one of the best! I can relate to it in so many ways. Although that’s not to say that I swam across an entire ocean with a crazy woman looking for my son who’d been abducted by a man in a mask. What I can relate to though, is having a goal or being challenged in some way and never giving up; no matter what. I not only try to live my life in this way but encourage my students to do the same.

I believe resilience is a big part of being an educator these days. It’s a fish-eat-fish world out there and sometimes it can be a matter of “just keep swimming”. As educators, we come up against obstacles and challenges everyday whether it be a student who doesn’t have their book, juggling 5 tasks at once, a lack of resources, a colleague not willing to look to the future or even attending a meeting lead by a great white shark named Bruce. We constantly face challenges such as these with integrity and we persevere because we know that we can make a difference. There are always others who are prepared to help us along the way and I’m thankful that I’ve had my fair share of them. When educators (and students, whānau and wider communities) work together, amazing things can happen. By ourselves, we’re just a small fish, but together we can create a school… see what I did there? Together, we can break out of the fish tank and its four walls and into the ocean with its limitless possibilities.

This week I have discovered that ocean (i.e. twitter, blogging, CENZ) and it’s amazing to see all the great things going on in our little corner of the South Pacific and further afield too. Even though it’s all very new and still a little daunting I love a good challenge…I’ll definitely be sticking around and doing my best to remain connected from now on.

About Jo Smith

Health & PE teacher and TIC Outdoor Education at Aotea College.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Finding Nemo, education and me #EdBlogNZ Challenge

  1. Anneke says:

    I love Finding Nemo! I also love that by connecting and working together we are making waves in the fish tank and escaping it when needed!

    Like

    • Jo Smith says:

      Making waves in the fish tank…I love it!
      I’m actually feeling the need to chuck the DVD in right now and have a watch!

      Like

  2. Louise says:

    I just love your analogies to the Nemo movie….great connecting! I too, like you, am challenging myself on a techco journey – digital learning and enriching my leadership. The connecting with like people will help us be able to do this together.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Melulater says:

    I think you have to retain a large part of “child” in you to be a teacher. It is how you connect with students. So retain your love of cartoons. It’s one part of what helps you connect to students.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

