Term 1 #OneWord2016 reflection (plus a bit of #edsketch16 too!)

So a bit of a combo on this post- I’ve decided to reflect on my word for 2016 and kick off #edsketch16 (posting a day late!). So just a quick blog, otherwise I’d be here all day…

FullSizeRender (3)

My word was Courage and I think by all accounts, I’m doing ok. At some points last term I felt pulled in many different directions all at the same time and it took it’s toll. The holidays were an essential refresh period. At the moment though it feels like the ups have more strength than the downs and I’m hoping to keep it that way.

I’ve had many fears to start this year and I’ve tried to to throw many of them out the window but unfortunately, sometimes they just come right back at me. Sometimes it has felt like I’m boxed in and I have to find a way out but sometimes I think I’ve also done this to myself. I feel like #edsketch16 will definitely help me to frame things more positively and looking forward.

MindLab has been a challenge but 8 weeks in and I’ve enjoyed the learning so far but by golly, postgraduate study is a lesson in time management! I’ve enjoyed making the connections with other people studying in the Wellington group and those on the Google+ community from all over NZ.

I’m still hard at work on the 8 goals I set at the start of the year and constantly reviewing them. The pineapple chart is almost up and running- it just needs to be reintroduced next week at staff meeting. The half marathon is in less that two weeks- quietly crying about this one as it scares the living daylight out of me! And the rest are all a work in progress.

I’ve stepped out of my comfort zone frequently and have encouraged others to do the same. I had another teacher come up to me and thank me this morning for sharing the information about the EdChatNZ MOOC and a couple of readings on student engagement back at the start of the holidays. As well as signing up for the MOOC, she had found a reading on the website and it had completely changed her outlook for the start of the term.

This morning I asked my form class to reflect on their chosen words for 2016 and the discussion it caused amongst them was fantastic. This was even more amazing considering their less than ideal start to 2016 but there they sat, discussing openly and honestly with their peers how they  thought they were progressing this year in relation to their #oneword2016.

What I am seeing for myself is that I have to keep persevering and remember to take time for me. I have to get stuck in and keep my students at the centre of everything I do at school and for the rest of it, continue to look after myself and my wellbeing- do the things that make me happy and keep me centred (not sure that the half marathon quite fits the bill here!). I’d rather be a lion than a sheep.

About Jo Smith

Health & PE teacher and TIC Outdoor Education at Aotea College.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

